The EMILY Award

This award is given annually for outstanding achievement in promoting and improving the position of women in Australian society.

It is awarded to a woman who has shown exceptional courage, determination, innovation and commitment to issues, reforms and practices that promote and improve the position of women across Australian society.

The 2016 EMILY is awarded to Anne McEwen. Anne McEwen is a lifelong champion of EMILY’s List principles of choice, equity, childcare, equal pay and diversity and she has always been a fighter when these principles needed defending. From her time as a student representative, a worker and union delegate, a union official, Secretary of the SA and NT Branch of the Australian Services Union, and for eleven years as a Senator for South Australia, including as Chief Government Whip and Chief Opposition Whip, Anne has upheld these principles. During her time as a Senator, Anne played a critical role in advocating for and actively supporting the landmark national campaign to achieve equal pay for social and community services workers, an industry undervalued due to the gendered nature of the work. Anne supported this campaign having been informed by her many years advocating for these workers, and many other working women’s issues while she was an official of the ASU. And not only has she advocated for feminist issues, she has also been a strong advocate for workers, for Australia’s first peoples, for migrants, for refugees, and for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer Australians. Anne has been the National Co-Convenor of EMILY’s List since 2013. In her role as National Co-Convenor she jointly led with Tanja Kovac Affirmative Action reforms within the Labor party which will ensure Labor continues to increase the representation of women in our parliaments. Anne is a quiet achiever, who has never opted for a high profile position, but has always stood up for what is right. Anne leaves a legacy of support to strong female women in all organisations she has been associated with, including but not limited to the ASU, the Australian Labor Party and her continued stewardship of EMILY’s List. Anne is a worthy recipient of the EMILY Award 2016.

Click here to see a full list of EMILY Award recipients.

Nomination form for the EMILY Award


The Mollie Smith Award

Since 2000, the Mollie Smith Award has been presented annually by the family of  Mollie Smith to honour her many years of volunteer service to the Labor Party. Mollie is honoured for her support for issues affecting women, her community work and her mentoring of young women interested in politics and community action. For these reasons, Mollie is a perfect ambassador for our award recognizing exceptional volunteer service to EMILY’s List. 

We thank the initiators and ongoing funders of the Mollie Smith Award – Jill Smith, Sue Smith, the Dubsky family – Jane, Bill, Lisl, Rachel, Laura, Stephen, – Tim Smith, Michael Smith, Rupert Smith, Nicola Smith, Anne Mancini, Jill Mancini and Robin Sinclair, and Jane Mancini and Gordon McNenney.

The 2016 Mollie Smith Award has been awarded to Nicole Campbell Nicole was one of the NSW EMILY’s List Co-Convenors as they re-built the ELAG in NSW in recent years. She has been active in organising and leading fundraising events as NSW revamped its involvement in EMILY’s List, including Polka Dot Balls and other events as well as getting EMILY’s List Action Group meetings occuring. Nicole has in the past been on the National Committee and regularly attending events in Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne. A long time EMILY’s List member, Nicole is passionate about getting more women into our parliaments and we are grateful for her continued support and volunteer time.

Click here to see the full list of Mollie Smith Award recipients.

Nomination form for Mollie Smith Award


The Top Broad Award

This award is given annually in recognition of outstanding service to Victorian women by a Victorian MP. 

The award is named after former Victorian MP, Candy Broad, whose hard work and commitment was integral to the passage of legislation to decriminalise abortion in Victoria.

Candy Broad was the inaugural winner of the award in 2015. 


The Pat Giles Award

The Pat Giles Award is awarded to a woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of women in the Western Australian labour movement.

In 2017 this award was given to Jann McFarlane, nominated by Janet Pettigrew. Jann is a tireless community worker, women's advocate, former Councillor for the City of Stirling, and the former ALP Federal member for Stirling (1998 – 2004). She joined the ALP in 1978, however, she has been working to improve the lives of those living on the margins of our society all her adult life. She is a qualified Social Worker, having graduated from Macquarie University in 1972. Having begun her advocacy work at the grass roots level she worked for various not-for-profit community organisations, and prior to entering Federal Parliament she was the executive office for Welfare Rights and Advocacy Service in Perth. She has been involved in countless community groups, she had served on their management committees, provided guidance and support to staff and volunteers, and has been a mentor to many. Her advocacy spans the "big picture" where she actively works to influence policy and procedures to improve the lives of those most vulnerable, to the "focused approach" where she helps individuals navigate complex issues, advocates on their behalf and provides her support, wisdom and encouragement. She takes an active role in mentoring women. She supports women strategically by assisting and encouraging them to take on leadership roles, either within the workplace, ALP, union movement, community organisations and across all levels of government. Retirement has not slowed Jann down, she is still dynamic as ever and working hard to help the next generation of women to take their place at the decision making table.


The Don’t Be Too Polite Girl Award

This award recognises and encourages an active young woman contributing to the Western Australian labour movement.

In 2017 this award was given to Jess Short, nominated by Senator Sue Lines. Jess is a real leader who inspires and helps others selflessly. She has worked with and supported other young women from all backgrounds. Through her work in the union movement she has inspired other young women to speak out about injustice in the workplace, especially in her many years at United Voice encouraging, mentoring and advocating for low paid women. Her infectious optimism never fails to inspire me as a women, a senator and an advocate.